Another Genius Hour

I decided I was going to do another genius hour post, just because I’m adding a side bar project to my project. My general project was that I was going to create an origami model of my own. I was thinking in addition to that, I would also make 1,000 origami paper cranes. In the book Sadako and the Thousand Paper Cranes a girl becomes sick with Atom Bomb disease from radiation from the Hiroshima bombings. She begins folding paper cranes because according to a popular myth, if you fold 1,000 paper cranes you will get a wish. Her wish is to get better, but sadly, she dies before she completes all 1,000 cranes, but she does get to 632 cranes. As a tribute, her classmates complete the cranes for her. As a result of this, cranes became a symbol of peace. I believe that because of all the warring and conflict that’s going on in the world, there should be something to combat that. As they say,

Never stop doing the little things for others. Sometimes, those little things occupy the biggest part of their hearts.

Hopefully, this will create even the smallest amount of awareness to conflict and the fact that small things make a big impact. It could even go towards bullying, showing that just a few small things put together can create a bigger change. Small things can make a big difference. I guess that’s all for now, goodbye all my apprentices!

Leave a Reply

