Re-Drawing! (S2-B17)

I drew the pictures for the Let Me Illustrate project. I was soooo mad at how they turned out, I couldn’t believe that I’d drawn them. I know that I can draw better than that, because (no offense Ashwin) it looked worse than my brother’s drawings. So I decided that I was going to redraw them, and make some better decisions as to the artistic license of what I’m drawing. I use the original Speaker For the Dead comics (that the book was inspired from) So far, what I’ve decided that I’m definitely going to change is the color of most of the aspects. I don’t like the coloring of the Formic queen in the comics, because she’s red as a cherry and that makes me thing that she’s burning and it bothers me. I’m also changing Ender’s hair to match Asa’s hair in the movie, so it will look like my drawing is the actual progression of images from the Ender’s Game movie to the Speaker for the Dead drawings. I’m changing the piggies’ fur to make it look more natural, because the color of their fur in the comic doesn’t look natural, it looks like someone painted the color on their fur and I definitely know the book NEVER mentions anything like that. Another thing I changed was the background for the Formic scenes. They’re both from Ender’s “dreamscape” and the picture depicts the Formic queen over a space background which I think is deceptive. For that reason (and also because it simplified the picture) I left the background white and left the graphite smudges for texture. (AND NOW I HAVE TO RETYPE EVERYTHING BECAUSE  IT DIDN’T POST THE ACTUAL POST, IT POSTED SOME STUPID PICTURE THAT I DON’T EVEN CARE ABOUT) I changed some other things too. It’ll take a long time to get the pictures to the quality that I want them to be at, but it’s definitely worth it to get there. Bye!

Leave a comment